4th Independence Day Cup Open Golf Championship 2012

4th Independence Day Cup Open Golf Championship 2012The 4th Independence Day Cup Open Golf Tournament 2012 concluded at Defence Authority Country & Golf Club here on 16th July, 2012 Sunday evening with Shabbir Iqbal of Islamabad Golf Club (IGC) winning the coveted trophy of the high profile DHA tournament.

The PKR One Million prized tournament was held from 13 to 15 July’ 2012 at DHA Golf Club in which 400 spirited golfers of different ages featured in various categories including country’s top100 professionals.

An impressive prize distribution ceremony was held on Sunday evening at DHA Golf Club in which Commander Log Area Karachi Maj Gen Shaukat Iqbal was the chief guest. The Commander appreciated Defence Authority Country & Golf Club for promoting golfing activity in the country and for organizing a spectacular golf tournament.

Maj Gen Shaukat Iqbal said that winning and losing was part of the game adding that the essence of the game was fighting spirit, perseverance, confidence and determination which constitute the moving spirit of golfing activity in its essence.

The performance of Pakistan’s number one golfer Shabbir Iqbal (IGC) was spectacular who won the championship and prize money of Rs 130,729/- with a score of (215). Muhammad Tariq (IGC) trailed behind to Second position while star Matloob Ahmed (LGGC) finished up of the tournament with a score of (219).

In senior professionals Ghani Khan (KGC) with score at par was first while Akhtar Ali (GYM) with score of 76 bagged the second position. In amateurs (H/C 12 Below) winner gross was Ghanzanfer Mehmood (Rwp) with 223 gross score while winner net was Zohaib Asif (DHA) with a score of 224.

In the ladies event winner net was Ms Sumeera Durani (KGC) with 37 score while winner gross was the shinning star Aania Farooq (AMGC) with score of 42. In juniors (under 16) Mir Muhammad Yaldram (DHA) with 83 score was winner gross while Shahrez Tariq (DHA) with 66 score was winner net. In Masters Vivek Anand (DHA) with 29 score was winner net and Zafir Bokhari (DHA) with 42 score bagged the winner gross title.

Secretary DHA Golf Club Brig (R) Hasan Rafi said that for the first time the participants of Independence Cup will receive international points for their status.

News published by Defence Housing Authority, Karachi

Leave a Reply