Prize Distribution Ceremony of 9th UBL Independence Day Cup Open Golf Championship 2017

The 9th UBL Independence Day Cup Open Golf Championship 2017 played at Defence Authority Country and Golf Club (DAC&GC) from 10 to 13 Aug, 2017 concluded on Sunday evening. A simple yet impressive prize distribution ceremony was held at Golf Club’s venue at the end of the tournament. Comd 5 Corps Lt. Gen Shahid Baig Mirza, HI(M) was the chief guest. Administrator DHA, Brig Shahid Hassan Ali received the chief guest on his arrival at DA Country & Golf Club. Approximately 300 golfers from all over the country including top national professionals of golf circuit participated golf tournament.

The chief guest said that golfing was a lively activity which helped to promote healthy and positive trends in society. Lt. Gen Shahid Baig Mirza further said that holding of such mega tournaments would immensely help in promoting golf in the country.

The performance of Shabbir Iqbal (ISB) was spectacular who won the championship with a score of 211. Muhammad Munir (ISB) with score of 216 and Matloob Ahmed (LGGC) finished up second with a score of 216.

In senior professionals Imdad Hussain (LGGC) with a score of 70 was first and Javed Inayat (KGC) with a score of 70 was second. In amateurs (gross) Zohaib Asif (DHA) with a score of 227 was first while Ghazanfar Mahmood (Bahria) with a score of 229 ended up second. In amateurs (net) Robin Bagh (GYM) with a score of 219 was first while Abdul Nasir (DHA) with a score of 221 ended up second.

In Junior Professionals Nadeem Almas (DHA) with a score of 152 was first while Zeeshan Ali (ASCC) with a score of 161 was second. In ladies winner net was Miss Daniah Syed (DWGC) while winner gross was Mrs Humera Khalid.

At the end chief guest distributed trophies and prizes among the winners in various categories.

Leave a Reply